The Wild Mushrooms of Red Hill

13 Apr

The first mushrooms of the season are always so exciting. Today was the first time this year there has been enough to get buckets full.

Checkout this one, probably shouldn’t each it, it looks a bit like the one that might be edible unless it mixes with alcohol in which case it is deathly. Do not touch.

This is what I am after, the perfect little pine mushroom. Known locally as Pineys, they can also be called saffron milk caps, pine caps it botantial name is Lactarius deliciosus they are common in Red Hill as they grow around the bases of pine trees, of which we have many.

Here are a few perfect little specimens.  Smaller than the palm of your hand, only a day or two old, they will be delicate and tender and fresh.

The fairy toadstool also grows around them in the same conditions.  This one is only for the fairies to live in, do not eat.

The fields are paved with them.

Bucket loads in one quick outing

My dinner tonight, a selection of a few of the smaller, perfect ones.

And this is how I like to eat them. Quickly panfried with some butter, herbs & olive oil piled onto a crusty baguette with Main Ridge Dairy marinated chevre. I also did one round where I fried pancetta in the pan first before adding the mushrooms.  So simple and tasty.

Whilst foraging, may as well get a few bags of apples too!

I love Autumn.

12 Responses to “The Wild Mushrooms of Red Hill”

  1. whippetsnippetandrabbit 13/04/2011 at 9:15 pm #

    I love this, I too get so over excited about mushrooms, there is a great book called A Hedgerow Cookbook by Glennie Kindred, which has a great mushroom section amongst other things.

  2. thecrystalbawl 14/04/2011 at 11:51 am #

    Can’t wait for the blooming rain to stop so I can go out and raid our field too!

  3. Mez 14/04/2011 at 7:06 pm #

    I used to adore those deadly toadstools when I was little. They were rampant in Ballarat I never touched them… the temptation was sure there though!!!

    Don’t you LOVE mushrooms on a baguette!?!! I did a recipe on my blog I think it’s filed under Mushroom Rague, it’s one of my favourite things for Hamish to make for me.

    Love your blog, now following!!! Thanks for finding me on Twitter 🙂 🙂 🙂

  4. msihua 17/04/2011 at 7:21 pm #

    Oh my.. that fairy toadstool! I’ve always envision one so that I could go to fairyland!! I WANT!

  5. Ed 19/04/2011 at 12:01 pm #

    The red spotty ones have very strange effects and give you the s**hts if eaten raw. But cooked they are okay. Just don’t drive!

  6. The Brewer's Wife 19/04/2011 at 3:17 pm #

    Thanks everyone for your comments! I have never had so many, it is very exciting. Thanks for the book rec and for your interest. And that red spotty one, Ed I don’t think I will be testing the theory!
    Cheers All

  7. mellie 15/05/2011 at 11:05 am #

    The fungi in your first photo are shaggy inkcaps (coprinus comatus), and are excellent eating. Their cousin, the coprinospis atramentaria, are the ones you can’t have with alcohol. They look similar, but don’t have the shaggy cap (ie. they are smooth).

    If you see them again, be sure to pick and eat! They don’t last too long, and can auto-digest overnight. So when you pick them, eat within 4-6 hours.

    • The Brewer's Wife 16/05/2011 at 3:05 pm #

      Thanks Mellie, yes, that is the name I thought, I am pretty nervous about eating anything that I can confuse with another! I haven’t seen them at my place before, they sprung up in my old fire heap. Very picturesque mushrooms, thanks for reading my blog.

  8. Iron Chef Shellie 23/05/2011 at 11:09 pm #

    oh yum!! I love autumn too! I really got to appreciate it this weekend! … i’m slowly getting very tempted to move out there!! shhh… don’t tell anyone 😉

  9. Kathy barreiro 21/07/2011 at 1:37 pm #

    I have a question, around the base of a plant i found these mushrooms they were hard looking kinda resembled a chickens heart had a red blomm or something to it kinda resembled a banana [epper i know this sounds weird but has anyone have any idea what it is? i pulled them up when i was dead heading around my [lants, they really looked kinda tropical and neat looking i am just courious is all thnak you for viewing this! Kathy

    • The Brewer's Wife 21/07/2011 at 1:46 pm #

      Hi Kathy, thanks for the message. I would have no idea about your mushrooms. You need a mushroom field guide perhaps. Always assume that the majority of mushrooms are poisonous. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

